In my time at Whitman I have had the opportunity to have some pretty awesome experiences outside of Walla Walla.  One of my favorite memories is my first trip with the drama club to Ashland, OR over spring break of my first year.  I had just finished my first play here which had a cast of only 5 so I didn’t know a whole lot of people.  Some people from the cast convinced me to go, but I was hesitant because of the small number of people I knew.  I was randomly assigned to a room with people I didn’t really know and put in a car with another batch I knew only by name.  I was apprehensive about the trip, but excited to at least see some good theatre.

                We began on a Friday evening when it was raining and dark, but even within that 4ish hour drive I already had begun to get to know my car mates.  We spent the first night at someone’s house at the roughly halfway point to Ashland.  Our car as well as about 3 others spent the night at the same house and we all ended up eating tacos and watching movies and laughing at a ridiculous exercise video we found.  The next morning we woke up and all had breakfast at a delicious place that had the largest cinnamon rolls I’ve ever seen.  After breakfast we loaded up the cars and continued on to Ashland. 

                When we arrived my car and I wandered the streets of Ashland looking for a place to eat.  After finding a good pizza place we hiked back to the hotel, and watched one of the worst movies I have ever seen.  Although the movie was pretty horrendous the people I watched with ended up having a great time laughing at the movie and getting to know each other.  The next morning we went to see Cat on a Hot Tin Roof which was a beautiful production.  Throughout the course of the rest of the trip we saw Hamlet and ate some pretty awesome food.  By the time the trip was over I had made a great number of friends that ended up being some of my closest friends at my time here at Whitman.  This was an awesome experience and just last night I signed up for my last trip to Ashland with the drama club and I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

